Canton, Ohio: door-to-door solicitor permit

Not confirmed. The city's License & Permits list includes "Solicitation" with no ordinance section, "Registration" where the fee goes, and a 6-month renewal — so the city runs some solicitation registration.

Canton, Ohiopartly read · city lists a solicitation registration (6 months, no fee shown), code not readable, hours not read

Partly read: the permit answer is sourced, but the fee or the hours could not be read from the city’s own pages. The clerk questions below cover the gap.

  • The answer: Not confirmed. The city's License & Permits list includes "Solicitation" with no ordinance section, "Registration" where the fee goes, and a 6-month renewal — so the city runs some solicitation registration. The code text that says who must register could not be read: the city's code host blocked automated reading. For the full list of questions, use the City Clerk Call Sheet.
  • Where it comes from: Not stated on the list. The Canton Police Department's Records office says its clerks accept applications for various licenses needed throughout the city; whether that includes the solicitation registration is not stated.
  • Fee: The city's License & Permits list shows no dollar figure for Solicitation — the fee column reads "Registration". A separate Itinerant Retailer license (Chapter 749) is listed at $150, annual from date of issue; whether it applies to door-to-door sales could not be read.
  • Hours you may knock: Not read. The code was blocked, and the city's license list does not give hours. Chapter 749 has a section on hours of sale for itinerant retailers, but its text was not read.
  • What the rep carries: Not read. The code was blocked.
  • What takes the time: Not read. The list says the solicitation registration renews every 6 months.
  • Code: Codified Ordinances of the City of Canton, Ohio, hosted on American Legal Publishing; Chapter 749 — Itinerant Retailers is one chapter that may apply. The city's own list gives no ordinance section for Solicitation. Section text and currency were not read.
  • Read it yourself: City of Canton — License & Permits · City of Canton — Police Records · Canton Codified Ordinances, Chapter 749 — Itinerant Retailers (not read: blocked) · checked 23 September 2026

Ask the clerk, and write the answer down:

  • Whether a door-to-door rep taking orders for a service (such as fiber internet) must register, which office takes the registration, and whether it is per rep or per company
  • Whether the solicitation registration carries any fee, and whether the $150 Itinerant Retailer license also applies to door-to-door sales
  • What hours door-to-door sales are allowed, and the code section
  • Whether a background check, fingerprints or an ID badge are required, and how long registration takes

Clerk’s name ______________ Direct line ______________ Date called ______________

Every city checked in Ohio

Back to Ohio in the Permit Lookup

Calling the clerk? The City Clerk Call Sheet has the eight questions to ask any city.